Closed

Working from home is a boon. For me. I can decide priorities, I can give thought to what I write, I can complete a task without being interrupted four times by things other people need me to do now.

But my colleagues back at the office are even more rushed than usual as I'm not there to take some of the load. I've been moaning for a while about the culture of saying 'yes' first and scrabbling to pick the the pieces second but with a bit of distance today I was able actively to refuse to implement a new project until there's been time to plan it. Subversion or leadership? The reactions were unexpected. I shall be interested to see how this unfolds.

Manchester by the Sea this evening. What an utterly convincing and empathetic and sustained study of people in grief. Hearts broken so far beyond 'heartbreaking'.


Blip 1861 - the emancipation of the serfs in Russia and the start of the American civil war. Momentous, both, and both still resonating in their respective countries and beyond.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.