Leiflife

By Leiflife

Not Another Pelican...

Yes! Another and another and another... So far the relationship remains steadfast. I visit nearly every day. They give me extra motivation for my daily walk. I love them and they challenge me. Their acceptance of my presence feels reciprocal: a return of love. 

When I stay long enough, there is no limit to the gifts bestowed. Sure, they do a lot of resting on pier and posts, with occasional stretches or yawns. But at any moment play can be embarked upon. The sudden flight of one can be an invitation to a game: keep away, if a piece of fish is involved. They can be rowdy as all get out, splashing down in a writhing, snapping heap...the water erupting like a series of mini waterspouts. 

The one in the picture was sitting peacefully on the pier when a couple of humans passed, propelling themselves on flat boards with single paddles. He watched and suddenly seemed to yawn. Or possibly this was a bit of pelican humor at the folly of it all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.