Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

SquirrelBlipFriday: Thanks for the Peanut!

One of my squirrel buddies came down the Maple tree and took a peanut from my hand and then climbed back up to his favorite perch to enjoy it.  When I moved closer to the tree to take his picture, he smiled his thanks. ;-)

We broke a temperature record (by a lot) today.  It was 82 F (about 28 C), ridiculously warm for mid winter!  The reason for it is the Chinook Winds blowing up to 75 mph.  A lot of damage has been done but, fortunately, we haven't had any.  There are several fires along the front range because everything is so tinder dry.  We haven't had any moisture for almost a month.  One of the fires is in the area where I visited the Alpacas yesterday.  All the people and animals have been evacuated to the fairgrounds where there is plenty of room for their horses and other livestock (including alpacas).  When I drove up there this morning to see for myself, I talked to two firefighters who said the fire was under control.  Unfortunately, I heard on the news that it had flared up again.  The wind seems to be calming down now and is supposed to move out tonight so I hope they are able to contain it before it does any more damage!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.