But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Port Buchan.

The day started off badly with the cycle run starting off from the wrong place; that is, I went to the Roseburn Path while everybody else went to the now defunct Blue Goose. Personally, I blamed the run leader for being a Luddite and not using a sat/nav for, had he been in that habit, he would have sent out the route to all the riders. I normally load the route into my machine the night before o that, when I switch it on in the morning, it asked me if I want to be guided to the start.
 
I realised the error of my ways when I arrived to find the place deserted so I set my own route to the lunch stop at Linlithgow. I was an interesting exercise and I have no idea where I went although the information is available should I ever have the desire to find out. Being by myself allowed me to stop and take photographs, not that I produced anything that had any great merit. The Blip was taken at Port Buchan on the Union Canal, it’s not a place I had ever heard of but it’s next door to Broxburn, The port of Bristol is on a river, quite a small one at that, so why not have a port on a canal, I don’t suppose that there is any law against it. I arrived at Linlithgow bang on lunch time and assumed that I had the wrong lunch venue as well until I noticed a couple of the gang in a cafe, I was just going in to join them when they emerged and, while we waited for the rest to turn up, we were accosted by a lady journalist from Reuters who wanted our political opinions. It was an interesting discussion, for the lady wanted our views with no interest in expressing her own; she was pretty close to being the ideal woman. She went away with a representative view of Scottish tricyclists (twp. pf us must represent a significant proportion of that community) on Messrs. Cameron, Johnson and Farage to compare with the views of two old biddies she had just spoken to in Tesco’s.
 
Thanks are due to 60Plus for hosting this week’s Derelict Sunday Challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.