Skip winter and go to spring

I stole this idea from Downtown Phoenix's Instagram. Please forgive me. It's a great account.

This tree is blossoming. I guess we just skipped winter. Went straight from fall to spring. It was really nice out today. I went for a walk. Which I needed to clear my head because I did my taxes and owed about $750. Ouch.

I had done my taxes on Turbo Tax earlier, and it said I owed $750. I'd never owed before, so I thought something must be wrong. I tried TaxSlayer, which said I was due a refund of about $150. But that system wouldn't allow me to input my income from my freelance job. So I went to a professional with H&R Block.

They came out with the same result as Turbo Tax, much to my chagrin. Their fee was about $230, so I ended up paying $1,000 today. Ouch. I guess I'm canceling my first vacation. Shame. I really wanted to go to Las Vegas for March Madness.

When I go back to the office, I am going to try to redo my paperwork to see what went wrong. I should not have to owe; my income is relatively low. The tax professional did the math on my state taxes (I owed $4. What a joke.) and said they were taking out about 2 percent. That makes no sense because when you start a job here, you mark what percentage you want the state to take out. I marked 4.5 percent, so my job did something wrong.

I am annoyed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.