Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Fiona Friday

On the way home after school in the car, Fiona enthusiastically told us that her 1st grade teacher had read them a book today about a boy who made many paintings about his grandmother and she could hardly wait to do the same.  ( how could a grandmother not love that .. The book looks great " Grandma in Blue with Red Hat..by Scott Menchin,   About a kid taking art class I n a museum that looks just like the art institute in Chicago).   So the first one she did was called "Karen" and is my portrait in a boat with an oar with a picture of a gorilla and an elephant on the boat and a fish on my shirt.. I like the curly yellow -not white! -hair.   The 2nd one was called "elfit". Karen riding an elephant.  And the 3rd is a portrait of my 4 grandkids.  (   She wondered if I might blip them ...! OK, Fi!)
We also did some  Valentine stuff including sewing a stuffed felt heart which she is posing with.   Smoked salmon, pizza , ice cream and strawberries and cookies we had baked, for dinner.   And then, inspired by that book ( and another that i had gotten out that that teacher had also read them today " when Picasso met Mootisse". ). she told me stories of many of the artworks we have..... Including a story about "Pepe" the Mexican sculpture which I will have to hear again and write it down    (Something like.... It's a girl, Pepe,  in Mexico, who made a portrait of herself with pearls and 2 earrings and then made the sculpture before she died and lost one earring and the sculpture got sent to India to someone who sent it to me in Seattle.). She agreed that Pepe could be in a museum of art.  
Gotta love her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.