Miscellany

With the snow gone, among my errands today was a stop at the Community Food Co-op, where I lingered over the wine selection for a few minutes. 

I'm very fond of wines from southern France, influenced by having stayed in small villages in a single department several times (Hérault, in the Languedoc). Picpoul de Pinet is one of our favorites, so I was pleased to see this addition to the co-op's wine stock. It's particularly good with oysters, which we have occasionally, as there is an excellent shellfish farm south of us, and Drayton Harbor Oyster Company to the north, just before the border crossing into Canada -- more good reasons to live here!

Later, feeling "arty," I used the watercolor option on the RX-100 to make garbage pick-up in our cul-de-sac look more interesting (see extra) and to show that the snow is 99% gone, thanks to the heavy rain!

I'll be away all day Saturday, taking the BoltBus to Seattle for a visit to the Seattle Art Museum with my daughter, M. We particularly want to spend time in the Jacob Lawrence: The Migration Series exhibit, which runs through April 23. From that link: "Acclaimed as Lawrence's masterwork, this epic series chronicles in words and pictures the exodus of African Americans from the rural South to the industrial North in the decades after the First World War." What a wonderful opportunity to see this art in person!

(Also on the above link are links to online interactive websites created by The Phillips Collection and the Museum of Modern Art -- scroll down and enjoy them, too.)

We'll meet her brother W for a late lunch/early supper at an Indian restaurant before I catch the 6 p.m. BoltBus home. Our time together will be the first event in the celebration of a landmark birthday I'll be having soon, as I won't be in the Pacific Northwest on that significant day. Stay tuned!

Blip 1743

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.