Darn it!

I'm sure that Son#3 has more jumpers in his possession now than the total number I've ever owned in my life. However he was a little disgruntled recently to find that he's snagged a hole in the sleeve of a newish one. He left it here for:

1) My Editor to find some wool to match
2) Yours truly to darn it as somehow the Editor seems to think I'm better at it than she is.

This stems from the fact that I still have a (very) old jumper - from student days, would you believe? - which I use for scruffy jobs like decorating. And whilst a student I "Swiss darned" the elbows. That was easy as they were getting thin but hadn't yet gone into a hole - so I just had to follow the original wool threads with the darning wool.

Son#3's jumper was more of a challenge as it actually had a hole as you can see. And it was right on the edge of a "cable" and a plain area. Anyway I hope he'll be pleased with the result: hopefully if folks don't know it's there they won't notice it.

When I was a student, I could do this sort of job without any magnification. Now I can't - no surprise there!

(The weights were just to keep it stretched for the photos.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.