Life through the lens...

By ValC

Apple strudel.

On days like these the best place to be is baking in the kitchen.
Especially when MrC is glued to the television watching several rugby matches.
( Great cheer went up when England won. Not too happy about the Leeds United score.)

So I decided to make a recipe I haven't done for years, and one which dates back to a night school cookery course I did over 50 years ago.
We had a very good teacher, and one of my favourite recipes was Apple strudel.
Making the strudel pastry ourselves from scratch. She made it look so easy, and so I have never thought it difficult either.
You have to roll it out VERY thin on a tea cloth dusted in flour. Brush with melted butter, and then put the thinly sliced apple and spices over the top, and roll it up like a Swiss roll.

Today it turned out well, and by special request we had it with custard. Delicious.
This time it won't be long before I make it again.

Hope you are enjoying the weekend, and managing to keep warm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.