The Lady And The Tramp

My daughter took me to sort my phone in her 2002 track S2000, I love it and definitely prefer it over her pretty blue, more recent S. I thought we might play cars afterwards but the weather was very cold and it was trying to snow so we decided against it.

I bundled myself up and went for a walk at Lodge Farm. The deer were too far away for a shot and I didn't see a soul until I was on the way back to the car. A man with a lovely lurcher approached. Tramp is a greyhound saluki cross. I love his dark-rimmed, sight hound eyes. I had real trouble trying to get him to look at me. He has a bit of Tramp from The Lady And The Tramp about him. I wouldn't call myself a lady but I enjoyed chatting in a ladylike fashion with his master. :)

Today's poem is 11th February 1963 by Paul Farley. https://www.theguardian.com/books/2003/jan/26/poetry.features

Paul Farley was born a couple of years after the big freeze of '63. (The year sexual intercourse began. :) ) My boarding school was closed, and as I've recounted before, I remember Norbert, who used to help my parents on the nursery, riding his motorbike on our frozen pond. It occurred to Farley, quite some time later, that the day the Beatles recorded their first LP was the same day that Sylvia Plath took her own life and these events happened a mile or so apart, prompting him to write this sonnet. I well remember seeing The Beatles for the first time on TV in the school common room when it thawed and we returned. I like how Farley weaves the two events together.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.