Plus ça change...

By SooB

Interlopers

When CarbBoy asked if he could buy something in the Lego store with his own money, I had no idea it would be this cool. I only just now spotted the interlopers from (I think) the new Batman Lego movie. I'm sure the BBT folk would approve of their house guests.

Very very much earlier, I was up before the larks to chop aubergines and empty the enormous pomegranates. Then a race against engineering works to get to the British Library for our time-limited entry to the fabulous maps exhibition. (Very very much worth the trip, btw.) so, reunited with a surprisingly un-jetlagged MrB and the northern folk, we looked at a fabulously diverse array of maps. I could have bought the entire shop.

Lunch in a pub, then hotel moving for the Northerners and the British Museum for the rest of us (where Mr B's "we'll meet at the Rosetta Stone" was thwarted by me and the kids finding a replica in the Enlightenment room. Tempting Mr B to go to reception to ask where he might find Enlightenment...

Later, shopping for me and CarbBoy with Mam and Sis, including their first Oyster card experience, a tour of Westfield and the Uxbridge Road, then home to ours for some lounging in front of the rugby and medicinal whisky (for my sister because she has a cold, and for Mr B just because you never need a reason to drink housewarming whisky).

Dinner was a tagine feast with most of the trimmings, and there were Krispy Kremes and baklava to follow. (And some Big Bang Theory to help Mam understand the Lego).

And with the others back off to their hotel, some lazy telly rounds off the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.