Think, try, share

By JonBusby

The Spontaneous Prose Store

I'd forgotten about this little gem from Edinburgh.

We had all been in St Giles Cathedral, which is definitely worth a visit if you are in Edinburgh. When we came out Lois spotted a young Canadian girl, sat on a small fold up chair, under an umbrella with a typewriter right next to the Heart of Midlothian.

She was 'The Spontaneous Prose Store.' You tell a story and she instantly types out prose. So Lois told a story that she would like.

I suppose it is probably a variation on a theme but I liked the simplicity and creativity of it all. I liked the fact that it was the polar opposite of the dot com, always on world that we increasingly live in and delude ourselves with. This was live.

I love the typos (?) and it connects well with the work I have been doing around Shakespeare, social media and postcards...but that is another story for another day (or Blip).

Make of it what you will.

I hope you are well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.