An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

By the Light of the Silvery Moon

Abso Loot Ely Bleedin' Freezin' once again down on the beach, as the dense thick leaden cloud parted for half an hour at 8pm tonight. Slight snow flurries before and afterward. I was out though until 11pm, getting home at 12.30 a.m.

New lens: Tokina DX 11-16mm f2.8 Pro Mk2 - (well, a mint secondhand one, via Ebay) considered by everybody to be the very best ultrawide DX fast lens in existence - until they (apparently) improved it even further via the new £500+ 11-20mm f2.8.

THAT is the real reason why the Sigma macro is going but ideally I would have kept that but at the end of the day, I just don't do macro and already had a cheap plastic but very light Tamron SP 90mm f2.8 

BUT, I desperately needed some retail therapy with all the utter crappy nonsense going on with my landlords and I do love my night-times and stars and stuff in the middle of the night. I'm still going to use the even wider 10-24mm Nikkor (f3.5-4.5)  for landscapes and general photography but in comparison, at 10mm it's good in the centre but a hazy wallow far borders and corners at max aperture, whilst the Tokina is sharp all over at all settings f2.8, rising to blistering amazing by f4. Its limited range no doubt helps with attaining that performance. You could almost consider it a fixed fast prime 11mm, as that's where it's most used and performs to the standard of a fast prime too.

It'll also be handy for gloomy church and cathedral interiors too, of which I do rather too many (perhaps)

Grad grey filter over left quarter of the frame. WHO even does that??

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.