Here's Looking At You . . .

When I was going to a wine and food show this was not the picture I thought I would be posting.  Of course I didn't have my zoom lens on so I thought the Fuji did very well with the 18-55 kit lens.  Our friends suggested a walk at the Onomalutu Reserve before the show.  At the end of the valley is a small stand of virgin Kahikatea forest.  It is what remains after the original podocarp forest was logged for timber and farming.  This little reserve of 26 hectares was set aside for the people of Blenheim in 1901.  Camping is permitted and if you are hardy swimming in the river could be an option.  We walked among the big trees and heard a lot of bird song.  The native pigeon/Kereru, announced it's presence with the distinctive sound of its wings.  It was feasting on wine berries.  (see the extra)  This is my first Kereru pic and although cropped I'm happy with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.