Tea with added Krust

By KrusTea

My day

In the road to recovering from the ravages of chronic illness towards being a "more productive member of Society" this system of applying for benefits always trips me up to the extent that for days afterwards, I feel like a completely worthless member of Society.

I know there has to be a way of assessing but even though I am well educated with a wide ranging vocabulary, I am reduced to "how can I describe this?". I fear for others who aren't able to complete these (40 page) forms being overlooked or rejected by the system.

This one took 3 days. The one earlier this week was a 2 day 20 page affair. Next will come a face to face assessment, full of stress mingled with the feeling of both being a second class citizen, begging and trying to assert that I am still unwell.

On the other hand, grateful that I'm not in a poor house or on the street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.