Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

DIY

So yesterday was spent implementing Murray's IKEA hack.

I had my decks set up on top of an IKEA Expedit unit previously. This was ok but there were a few problems, it was too low and while it was wide enough for the decks I could only fit a laptop stand in teh middle above a mixer.

Murray however came up with the great idea of fixing a Lack TV unit to the top. This not only sets the decks at the perfect height, it gives room for the stereo equipment directly underneath which frees up shelf space in the expedit at the side for more records, and also it is wider then the expedit so I can fit a laptop stand behind each deck and have my laptop and controller both on the go at the same time as both decks.

This was almost all set up yesterday but I had to order a second laptop stand which showed up today so I finished it off after work. As I had lifeboat training I only had a wee bit of time to experiment before I headed out, but it's way more practical than the previous setup and is clearly going to be fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.