Day oot in Edinburgh

We headed to the portrait gallery first to see the death masks and the BP portrait exhibition.

I overheard a couple having a great conversation about the winning portrait (which is beautiful in my opinion). It went something like this:

No. No. I'm sorry but no. There is no skill involved in that at all. I could have done better than that and I don't even paint.
Couple moves to next portrait.
Yes. Yes. Much better. We like that one don't we.

The conversation was narrowly topped by the one I overheard between two posh Edinburgh ladies at the modern art gallery shop. They were flicking through the deeply ironic Ladybird parody about a mum taking her children to a gallery:

God is dead!?A feminist vagina!? This is for the under 5s you know!
Posh lady strides over to counter and tells assistant off for having that sort of book in the shop.
Assistant explains that the books are parodies of children's books.
Lady complains that they're not suitable for children.
Assistant tells her that's why they're not in the children's section.
Posh lady mumbles and walks away.

The Joan Eardley exhibition was fab. I bought a mug :-D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.