Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

On a holiday out

Once every 2-3 months an outdoor event is organised for the closed PG ward where mum stays and today I accompanied mum instead of one of my sisters or a volunteer.
It was lovely to see that both mum and the other elders who suffer from dementia, enjoyed the day fully and seemed to have better control of their spirits and decorum; wonderful to see them grow more aware and alive. My entry is today's High Tea table enjoyed by all and showing just some of 'the gang'.
 
 As always the trip was made by a pullman and mum told me that pa will react with surprise when he learns about her bustrip and adventures; a note I affirmed that he would and we followed with some small talk till she pointed a churchtower out to me and named the village it stands in correctly! I was baffled by this sudden memory gain of her and some of the staff told me they noticed, like me, that it's like mum is in better spirits since her sickbed with fever in January last; I take it that it worked like a cleansing.

In the extra mum in good moods

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.