Jado

By Jado

Hare Hill

Having been ‘ticked off’ over potential copyright issues for posting a photo of a poster advertising a certain artist’s exhibition, which I have since deleted, I did some research into what constitutes copyright infringement.  In respect of a site like Blip, which is world-wide, the whole thing is a nightmare!  I am certain that the photo I posted was not a copyright infringement – in the UK – but it could well have been in the USA, which is where the artist in question originated.  So I’ll be more careful in the future.
 
That research caused me to delete one further previous posting because although I had permission to photograph in the museum in question, my photograph may have infringed the artist’s copyright.
 
And that got me thinking further.  The various organisations I do voluntary work for all have very similar photography policies, i.e. that you can take photographs for personal use only.  Photographs cannot be published or be for commercial use.  None of those organisations state in their policies what publishing actually means.  Is publishing a photo on Blip publishing?  So to be on the safe side I deleted another two previous photos published on Blip.
 
This thing about commercial use does raise an interesting question.  One historical building where I do voluntary work, use some of my photographs, originally taken by me for personal use, for the merchandise they sell in their shop.  That has to be commercial use – but who is breaking the rules?  I gave them permission to use the photos, but I don’t get paid anything …
 
Anyway, to cut a long story short, I have now clarified that the National Trust extend ‘personal use’ to include file sharing sites like Flickr, Facebook, etc, so long as posting on such sites does not lead to commercial activities.
 
But I am still not sure that I should be publishing photographs of the out-of-season work going on at Hare Hill, which involves some major building work.  Any member of the public that wants to see the results of the building work, or even my rose pruning efforts today, will have to wait until Hare Hill re-opens on the 1st March ;-)
 
Today’s photo should be OK.  It is just the car park!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.