JMK

By JMK

Postcard from Sumner

After a lovely morning there was a wind change this afternoon and it became windy again. We had lovely sunny sky's...apart from all the smoke that blanketed the city and Port Hills.

I had to take some documents into my lawyer. Seeing I was halfway to Sumner.. a seaside village not from the city, I carried on there to get some sea air. The hole city was blanked by smoke from the out of control fires. I couldn't even see the Port Hills. I was wondering why my asthma was so bad first thing morning. Now I have just about lost my voice.

I took a very short walk in Sumner. You could see all the smoke over the hills and in this shot, the lower part of the sky which looks like clouds, is smoke drifting by. By the time I headed home I could see the Port Hills again for a short time.

When the wind changed this afternoon it cause the fire to take a new direction, this time towards houses. Many people had to be evacuated. Here is the latest news I have on the fire. It is the worst fires I have ever seen on the Port hills in Christchurch.


PS. A state of emergency has been declared in Christchurch 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.