Winter Book Group!!

Thanks to a very kind friend, who provided a door-to-door taxi service on a very wet afternoon, I made it into Bath to join my book group for cake and a cuppa, and a discussion about our latest book, My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante. It received mixed reviews from the group, but I enjoyed it, though would I recommend it? Well, probably best if you read the synopsis below and decide for yourself if it appeals to you.

But what I most definitely would recommend is the Chocolate, Banana and Coconut Loaf that my friend baked for us. I've also posted a link below for the recipe.

Off to bed for a very early night, so will catch up with you all tomorrow...


"A modern masterpiece from one of Italy's most acclaimed authors, My Brilliant Friend is a rich, intense and generous hearted story about two friends, Elena and Lila. Ferrante's inimitable style lends itself perfectly to a meticulous portrait of these two women that is also the story of a nation and a touching meditation on the nature of friendship. Through the lives of these two women, Ferrante tells the story of a neighbourhood, a city and a country as it is transformed in ways that, in turn, also transform the relationship between her two protagonists." https://www.amazon.co.uk/d/cka/My-Brilliant-Friend-1-Elena-Ferrante/1609450787


Cake recipe: http://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/loaf-or-muffin-you-decide-8j5kpp8ll

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.