T is for Turmeric

Today's the day .......................... to spice up

A few weeks ago, I ran out of turmeric and so it was added to my shopping list for the day.  My usual shop had run out of it so I tried another - and another - and another, all to no avail.  There was not a jar of turmeric to be had in Kendal for love nor money.

Then someone told me that it was all because of the good Dr Michael Mosley (him of the 5:2 diet) and one episode in his TV programme series 'Trust Me I'm a Doctor' where he had been examining whether or not turmeric did possess the healing powers that were claimed for it.  It seemed that it did - and so as a result, everyone was buying it and adding it to whatever they were cooking.

Today I did some shopping in that well-known supermarket that begins with an M.  I was very pleased to find my spice again - filed under T  in the rack.  The country has obviously had its fill and it's now available to the general shopper once more .......................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.