Boxed In

A few weeks ago, probably longer, the Minx was playing a 6Music playlist which included a band called Boxed In. I liked the track that was playing - 'Forget' - and I bought the album so that I could play it on my radio show. Of course, I listened to the rest of the album, which I rather liked, and ended up playing another song - 'Open Ended' - on the show first and then 'Forget' a couple of weeks later.

A little while after that, the Minx saw that Boxed In were playing at The Deaf Institute, which is one of our favourite venues, so we decided to go along and also take the miniMinx and Dan. Then, as the date approached, we realised that Dan would be in his play so we invited Hannah instead. Plus, I encouraged Simon to get a ticket as I thought he would like Boxed In, too.

We all duly met up earlier this evening and had a good meal downstairs before we went up for the gig. We were early enough for the support band - one of those occasions when I wished we hadn't been - and then Boxed in came on. Drummer, guitarist, bassist and singer/keyboard player, all of whom turned out to be great.

The material was a little mixed. 'Forget' was excellent live but some of the other electronic tracks were a little too slow to be heard for the first time in a live environment. What did surprise and delight me were some extended jams, with some fine playing from all the musicians. And I'm pleased to say that we all enjoyed the gig, as expressed beautifully by Simon through the medium of dance!

****
-4.2kg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.