Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

A security issue

I was beginning to fear that my five-year-old story of cancer treatment and the story of the Trump presidency were about to diverge but it seems that a fresh scandal at the Whitehouse has kept us on track. And then, whilst scouring the countryside for hidden private churches, I fell upon this fabulously graffitied boat. The blip gods are with me :-)

On Wednesday 15th Feb 2012 Theodosia, the radiotherapy technician, gave me a lift in to the hospital for my daily dose of radiation and she let me know that the machine would be undergoing routine maintenance over the next two days so I wasn't to attend hospital. This left me and my sister footloose and fancy-free. How to spend our last few days together if we weren't tied to hospital appointments? Let's visit Meteora! she suggested. It was a place I had long wanted to visit and it seemed that if we got a move on we might just be able to fit it in before her flight and my ferry home on Friday in opposite directions. We grabbed our bags and ran to the bus stop to catch a city bus to the Intercity bus station.

Whether it was the result of living for so long on a crime-free island, or whether it was the excitement of a road-trip with my sister, or whether it was just fatigue and chemo-brain but I did not keep my bags as securely as I should have on a crowded city bus and my purse was stolen. Ninety minutes in a police station and frantic calls to get cards cancelled and re-ordered and we had lost just the right amount of time to cause us to abandon the trip.

Worse still, I could not justify remaining in Thessaloniki with my sister for her final day and so even though she had crossed the continent to be with me, I then left her there and went home on Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.