Ship in the Dawn Light

I'm sure that all of us in Christchurch were anxious for the dawn to arrive today, to see how the fires had been overnight. It's not been good. In fact, it's horrific. No more lives lost, after the helicopter pilot was killed the other day, but now 11 houses have been destroyed by the fires, 450 homes evacuated, and 1100 people displaced. My heart goes out to them all. Some sad stories coming now. The fires have been raging violently, and at one stage the TV & Radio transmission tower on top of Mt. Sugarloaf was threatened; thankfully the fire & helicopter crews saved it. Those crews have been heroic, saving homes and lives. 

They're saying that the fires are contained tonight, but that's dependent on the winds not getting up again. The forecast isn't good. No rain forecast until Saturday at this stage.

Where I live is upwind from the fires, almost at the other end of the Port Hills, and I've not even seen any smoke today, so what I've been seeing has been on the TV. There's an extra that I have on my phone, which I'll put in Extras. It's off the TV, and is an amazing scene. I'll let you be the judge of that, if you see it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.