Double-O Duck

Meet my nemesis, this feathered friend has been swimming rings round me for weeks. No matter how quietly or politely I try to get a picture of him he deftly evades my lens.

He heads off in the opposite direction at a fair rate of knots but even more frustratingly he waits until you're in position and then dives underwater only to resurface sometimes 30 meters up or down stream.

I say up or down stream because he plays that game too. I've tried guessing a spot 30 metres or so down stream where he'll resurface and wait only to hear the laughing quack behind me where he's come up for air.

But now I've got him and the dilemma turns to what kind is he. At first I thought a Coot but ruled that out quickly, so next up was a Tufted Duck, but then you need a tuft for that.

I think the reasons for his furtive and secretive behaviour maybe down him being a Goldeneye!

Oh Mish Moneypenny, that's why he'sh shaken shtirred :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.