Eye-openers

By Alaw

Quite a contrast

The light is fading as the train smoothly glides out of Wolverhampton Railway Station, in real contrast to the Arriva Trains service on which I've just spent two and a quarter far less comfortable hours. It was alright. I did have a seat, unlike on my previous train journey from Birmingham to Newport. The two carriages were absolutely packed and I had to stand up for quite a while. It was partly my fault, as I shouldn't have been on that train anyway, as I should have changed in Shrewsbury, but unfortunately went to Birmingham New Street on auto-pilot. That always had been where I'd changed when travelling to Chesterfield to see my parents. It was my first-ever e-ticket that threw me into disarray, as I couldn't readily find the details of where to change trains on my smartphone, which is obviously a lot smarter than I am. Anyway, that was last time. All is going well today; no silly mistakes so far, so with my sanity and my dignity both intact (unlike last time), I'm relieved to say that I'm finally relaxing and enjoying my journey today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.