Let There Be Light

By solli

In The Wheel

It's an absolutely beautiful day and the damselflies are happy. I sat down in the grass of Lenape for a spell and noticed the tiny ones doing the deed on a weed stem. They spent a long time in position, periodically glancing at me but when it was over they both flew their separate ways, with the male landing on a blade of grass right next to me. Well done! I said to him.

My collection of photos shows two pictures of the female witdrawing her abdomen from the male and most remarkable is the fact that I happened to catch the drop of his sperm as it hung from his abdominal segment!

If you'd like to take a look, you can see it glistening as it hangs from his abdomen on the photos I posted to flickr.

Since I was a bit shaky the pictures aren't perfectly focused (those damselflies are incredibly tiny) but I had my wow moment regardless!

I hope you're all having a terrific day! To view this photo larger, please click here.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.