today's another day

By dbrereton

Dent Head Viaduct

I had some time off work today to play at being a train spotter. My dad was an authority on trains, and I've inherited that gene.

So off to the Yorkshire Dales to witness the newly built Tornado working on regular services on the Settle and Carlisle line. I purposely avoided Ribblehead, where there were over 200 cars and a refreshment van parked up, and carried on to Dentdale, my favourite valley. We've spent many a weekend here at festivals, walking, golfing and just enjoying the Dale.

So where's the train? Well it came 20 mins after I took this, but the driver hadn't read the script, no steam, no smoke, no full throttle. It made for a slightly limp photo and I decided that the viaduct itself was a better subject.

As it then left us it steamed up the Dale and we saw white plumes and heard that familiar noise.

As a PS there's an extra pic of a sketch I did last year of this very same view. A great place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.