RedDevil

By RedDevil

First Taste of Travel - Abstract Thursday

This is a model of my very first car, a second-hand 1964 Isetta 3 wheel Bubble Car, it was flimsy and lightweight as it was made of Fibreglass, had a drip feed petrol system behind the bench seat (that you had to remember to turn on), two wheels at the front and one at the back (really unstable around corners).   
 
It cost me 30 pounds for the car and 60 pounds to insure it, I thought I was the bees and eee’s driving for the very first time without any lessons whatsoever!   Oh the stupidity of youth….
 
The steering wheel swung out with the single front door, often causing much amusement to those around.   As a learner driver, the reverse gear had to be blanked off, so I had to drive forward, jump out of the car and pull it back by a little luggage rack on the rear of the car.
 
I had many disastrous adventures in this little car, including it catching fire due to the horsehair stuffing and seat springs somehow connecting with the battery under the driver's seat!
 
Anyway, my lovely but very cross father finally forced me to sell it as he thought it way to dangerous to drive!  (He didn’t know the half of it!)
  
A little jiggery pokery in this image, but I found this little model a few years back reminding me of those interesting (yet fun) first time travel memories…. Sigh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.