Seals at the Ythan Estuary, Newburgh

We had a walk down to the beach from our AirnBnB north of Balmedie, which itself is north of Aberdeen. In doing so we marched across The Donald's controversial fairway, so to speak.  A stupid Trump golf course.

Later I wandered up the coast and took the road down to the beach at Newburgh. Looking out over the Ythan Estuary I thought I could see a rock embankment. Only when I heard the mewing and grunting did I realise it was hundred's of grey seals.

I actually ran over the dunes back to the car to pick up The Principal who was doing some work from our base. We sat on the sand and watched the great mass of seals over the neck of the estuary.

Later I drove up through little harbours and abandoned grand buildings down pot-holed shell-sand roads. The weather worsened and by the time I got to Peterhead the rain was lashing down from leaden skies.

I drove around the busy, sprawling harbour and then headed back down the A9. I bought a chicken at the Tescos at Ellon but then found out the house we were staying in did not have an oven. So improvised.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.