Challenge Wanaka 2017

It has been such a beautiful day for the Challenge Wanaka Iron Man Race.  I was at the lake first thing to see the swimmers head out for their 3.8k swim.  There were 2,500 competitors altogether, so the swim took a few hours for all the swimmers to have their turn.  I took this photo at Bremner Bay, this was the run leg, which is a Marathon!.

Extra 1 is the sunrise, about 7 a.m.  No action at the moment.  The first swimmers set of at 6.45 a.m., the second wave at 7.30 a.m.
Extra 2 is some of the first swimmers out of the water.
Extra 3 is them running over the overbridge to collect their bikes and head out on the 180 k bike ride.
Extra 4 is a bike rider finishing the first 60 k's of the bike ride.
Extra 5 is of the gofers and their motor cycles, getting instructions.  
Extra 6 is a photographers nightmare, someone walking into your picture!

There were traffic jams everywhere, in fact I had to park down the street as I couldn't turn into my road to get home.  I left the car there for a couple of hours, when I walked back, I still couldn't get into my road.  I took the long way to get to the croquet club.  It is still very hot, I don't know how they all survive this race.  It is very long and grueling. 

Tonight there will be hundreds of very tired competitors and spectators!.  The race finishes at 11.30 p.m. with a fireworks display.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.