Seelye

By Seelye

Yokohama Kate Terrestrial Orchid

This orchid lives outside all year long and goes dormant in the winter.  I put it behind a wall in my yard and completely forget about it.  The leaves and flowers grow from bulbs.   I've had it for several years in the same pot and some of the bulbs are now quite large.  I need to separate and start a new pot.  I went behind the wall the other day and discovered all the new growth.  The soil is made up of compost, sand, and pumice.  You can see in the top left corner of the photo one of the 1st spikes is starting to shoot.  I knew rain was predicted for last night and today so I pulled it out so it would get a good rain soak.  How I love the rain and coolness today.  I plan on doing very little as every muscle in my body is aching from extreme hours at work.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.