Burwood Hospital

No one in Christchurch bemoaned a grey day that turned into persistent drizzle and light rain by lunch time, certainly not a woman with wet shorts on her bike. A fireman described the drizzle as the equivalent to spitting on a bbq. At least it's helping them contain the fires.

In order to get around some technical issues at work I'd started very early a couple of days this week, so finished earlier today. That meant I could try to sort insurance issues on my house as the potential new owner works through what he needs to while the sale is conditional.

The fires this week have meant insurance companies have put an embargo on new house insurance policies. That's what happens every time there is a decent earthquake and now it's happened with the fires.

When the new owner (conditional sale remember) called the 0800 number for my insurance company they just said no. A call centre in Auckland has no idea where my address is in relation to the fires. As far as they're concerned all of Christchurch is a towering inferno and the embargo stands for as long as it suits the insurance companies.

By speaking to someone in person here I was able to set in motion transferring my house insurance to the new owner so he can tick another box for his finance pre-approval. The property has been insured with the same company for many years so that means they're continuing the insurance but under a new name.

When I eventually got home with the lower half of me like a drowned rat I was met by the guy undertaking a house inspection and his colleague testing for the presences of meths. It's slightly disconcerting being present when someone is undertaking a detailed house inspection.

I'm aware that while the sale is conditional it can fall through and of the many things that can sway that the house inspection is one of them. I try to hold everything lightly and carry on with what needs to be done.

Finally I drove across town to visit my friend with Parkinsons. She's been admitted to hospital. If there is a silver lining  it's that she's in the recently opened Burwood Hospital. It's just lovely and doesn't feel or look like a grotty old public hospital. And for a blipper it provided interesting lines and reflections on dull, low light evening.

One day at a time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.