id:FOR

By FOR

People make GLASGOW...

... and GLASGOW made my temporary "flow" again today.

Really ;-) I have to say that right now in the beginning of my write-up for today' s blip.

And how was the day-off for me?

Must use couple of words instead of the only one and I would like to use the words like great, inspiring, exciting, awesome, surprising ... ;-)


Oh-aye, let' s start from the beginning. First stop in Glasgow during the morning hours? It was Pret A Manger Cafe on Sauchiehall Street. I have stopped here for coffee americano around 10am. Really good idea because I felt little bit tired since I've arrived into the Glasgow.  Of course normally I'm not drinking a coffee so you could imagine how that black fuel kickstarted my day :-)

As fast as I can I moved to Lighthouse before 10.30pm and was beginning my journey through that leading Scottish Centre for Design and Architecture. Good idea to start there. First I got on the top of the centre to enjoy the viewing platform while I was using the tower staircase. Pretty nice view and not so busy in the morning (thank you for your recommendations dear Ms.Tochterpleach). I enjoyed a couple of minutes of panoramic views and after all I took a picture of the staircase as well (see extra one) before I was going down. This picture is little bit special because I spotted guy downside who posed for his friend (Scottish girl) at the same moment when I was on the top platform. Could you recognize silhouette of young man downside in the circle? Good start for my photographic journey through the Glasgow. Anyway I enjoyed my time in Lighthouse a lot. And why? Simply becase the exhibitions inside. Right now you should go there because:

Images from Disappearing Glasgow (by photographer and filmmaker Chris Leslie) looks awesome !!!

Collection of covers and pictures from UNCOVERED: Still homeless, still an issue looks great !!!

And it' s really interesting to see the collection of typographic designs and beauty of pritmaking at part of the exhibition with name A Life in Letterpress (by Alan Kitching).

Fortunately I left the Lighthouse past 12.30pm so I had enough time to move to Merchant City area for short stop at Syd Shelton' s exhibition Rock Against Racism at Street Level Photoworks. Really worth to see.


Of course I didn't forget to pass the statue of Duke of Welligton and took his picture as well (see extra two). I hope that you will be enjoying my point of view ;-) He looks awesome as usual.

It reminds me one important thing about the Glasgow City Centre. It' s a great place for street photography like you could see in another two of my extras. One of that pictures I took on Argyle Street when I was in a hurry to reach Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum in time.


Streets were pretty busy inside the city centre so I moved forward so fast and I was reaching the area around the Charing Cross station in less than 30 minutes or so. It was a good choice to walk in this way. I recognized that footbridge over M8 should be a good spot for early night shot when I' ll be going back from museum. Must say that area of Glasgow' s West End looks still pretty nice and quiet  and it' s like ideal opposite part to busy city centre. Soon I was coming into the Kelvingrove Park and found a comfortable seat at the bench inside. Just relaxed for a while there. It was the first moment of the day when I saw the sun coming through the clouds for a while (couple of miunutes). But honestly I can' t complaint about the weather for whole day. Almost no rain in Glasgow today ;-) Imagine that!

Finally I was entering the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum past 3pm and it was right in time. My main point of interest was exhibition of Czech painter and decorative artist Alphonse Mucha. Really worth every penny. My personal opinion is simple there is no way that this exhibition and Mucha' s style is suitable more for any other Scottish city than Glasgow. I' m pretty sure that the exhibition had a huge impact on me because it was on display in Glasgow. Couldn' t explain that personal thesis easily but I'll try a little bit in a few words. The main reason to took that decision was personality of Charles Rennie Mackintosh (reminded me a visit of Lighthouse before). He was about Art noveau style as well. And exhibition show one of his posters as well.


The Mucha' s exhibition "In Quest of Beauty" is ending tomorrow so I  paid a visit to Kelvingrove Art Gallery right in time. Well done! There was only one surprise for me in the gallery and museum shop. The Mucha' s catalogue about the exhibition was sold out a couple of days ago. No more copies and big success in sales for the museum. Wow, I' m very proud of that fact because Mucha was originally from my country and he is beloved by many people in Czech Republic, trust me.


After all I had just only half an hour for the rest of the museum so no more photos in extras. Need more time for visit that great museum again. Next time ;)


Museum closed at 5pm so I took an easy walk (no rush) back to the city centre and like you could see I stopped for a while on Charing Cross for long time exposure shot. I took almost 5 photos and you have a chance to see one of them. I hope that you like it. Me? I was satisfied a lot with two of them but this one is pretty special, it's almost about the clean light trails in every of those lanes. That' s how I do that. That' s how I like that. Clean and smooth in every aspect :-)


It' s time to write a two quotes from Alphonse Mucha at the end of my today's blipwords and here they are:

A picture, I believe, acts aggressively. Unhindered, it penetrates through the viewer' s eyes into his soul...

The person who can communicate his emotions to the soul of others is the artist.


And because every artist has a muse, here is one more quote from Mucha's  favourite  model (French actress Sarah Bernhardt):


Energy creates energy. It is by spending myself that I become rich.


Have a good Sunday and listen to one song from the album which I've bought in some charity shop on Argyle Street today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.