Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

Boating Holiday: Day#2

Bridge, Lock, Focus.

We had a very productive day today through the starcase locks at Grindley Brook thanks to the helping hands of our friends K & F. They really enjoyed themselves, despite the physical work required on the locks.

I have been canal boating since the late 80's and the Llangollen canal is amongst my favourites. Having been up and down this stretch a number of times with my Mum & Dad, wife R (and now our son P) I am very familiar with all the beauty spots. And this is one of them. I had a pleasant chat with the lady who owns the cottage and welcomed me taking a photo(s) of it. I told her I would drop off a print as a thank you.

This picture was taken mid-morning at the bottom of the staircase locks while we were having our coffee break. I had an hour or so to myself so that I could do some Infrared Photography experiementation with my new lenses (Lensbaby & Fisheye) checking for hot spots usualy associated with certain lenses in IR. Although the lighting conditions were far from ideal for Infrared, there was just enough warm non-direct sun light to make it work. I took several shots of this scene with different focal points and this one suits the day that that we had on the locks, hence the title. This image was RAW processed in-camera, NO photoshop.

Lensbaby meets Infrared : success!!

Sye's a happy boy ;-DDDD

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.