All gloom and tomb.

Another dank and dreich day, with low cloud and soft drizzle.  Wanting to catch the mood of the day before the sun came out and spoilt everything (ho, ho!) I hied me down to my favourite cemetery at Pennyfuir, less than 10 minutes away.

The 'squad' - if there is more than one! - had been out clipping the Rhododendron ponticum into shapes - balls, cylinders and other unnatural creations - and leaving half of the arisings lying on the grass and gravel. (I would never let my guys go home without clearing up properly! I'm not ranting, just saying!)

Anyway, I'd gone there to catch the mood, but it wasn't quite misty enough to have vapour swirling around the gravestones, as I'd hoped! It was still quite atmospheric though and I took several photographs, of which I think this one was the best. My extra today, 'Relaxation by the waterside' is just the tiny touch of the sarcastic which I allowed myself! I find it such a pity that with a little knowledge and direction such places could be beautiful and at no extra cost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.