Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

Boating Holiday. Day#5

We Have Reached Our Destination

Not strictly true, as we arrived last night. We only just manged to moor up at the very end of the Pontcysyllte Aqueduct arm, Trevor, North Wales. I say justbecause the water is very shallow here and the front of the boat fit in nicely (water tank in the bow was half empty which proberbly helped). Plus we were on a bend so we had a lot of fender/rope shuffling to do.
That said, we had a fabulous time down below, having our lunch on a large rock right next to the River Dee, which passes under the aquaduct (a fair distant below). The view is just stonking - trees that are centuries old, yet still let an aquaduct fly over them! Priceless.Click here for more info.

This image was the morning view from the back of my Dad's boat (Lensbaby + Infrared) and as you can see the many of the boaters had already left for Llangollen or back to England. The Pontcysyllte Aqueduct is about 200yds on the other side of the bridge. Strange day for me, tourist-wise, because I took very few shots of the aquaduct itself. No disrespect to Mr. Telford himself, but I have taken many in the past and I was merely getting used to my new lens kits and trying something different/quirky.
I prefer this image in BW (white grass & dark water), but wanted to blip this to show you the effect of the saturated colours and the glare (or hotspot) as seen on the LHS. This glare is one of the frustrating things about IR photography. However, it can work in your favour, giving a dreamier effect like this one I took on Thursday.

Still a happy boy though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.