La vida de Annie

By Annie

Pastel de té.

Not a proper translation of teacake (cake made of tea?) but I've never seen them here. Lots of other confectionery, but never a good old English fruit teacake. This was the last of a pack brought over by a nice lady from one of the other apartments, who only stayed a week. I saw her on their first day, and agreed to pop round "for coffee or wine, whenever you like", but immediately came down with the lurgy and did not want to pass it on. I saw them again on the day they were leaving, and discovered they too had been struck down with the cold from Hell and likewise kept it to themselves. Shame, we could have commiserated over hot toddies. As they were planning to turn off the fridge/freezer until the next visit, I happily inherited some fresh and frozen veggies, and an unopened pack of teacakes, frozen while freshly baked. I have lusted after such an item for ages, and they were everything I'd dreamed about: light, fruity, fresh and with a crispy crust once toasted. I've been rationing myself to one a day, and this is the last. Real comfort food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.