A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Davros depuffed

I am not sure I really caught the colours of Davros's beautiful sage green suit and lemon face properly but I will keep trying.

I haven't photographed Davros since she (?) arrived since to my dismay she has mainly been a puffball of terrified feathers, in stark contrast to Cthulhu who took it all in his stride. I am glad to say she has depuffed and is looking much better but we are taking things slowly. It is very interesting to see just how different their personalities are. Cthulhu is not really a morning bird whereas Davros is an up-and-at-em type of budgie, consistently getting up for breakfast before we uncover the cage in the morning. In fact before we even switch a light on. She even got up for a midnight snack one night which gave us a bit of a fright since she is in our bedroom in quarantine at the moment. Cthulhu is a keen aviator, flying industriously about the room, we are not sure about Davros yet as she is not ready to come out of her cage but she seems to be much more of an acrobat and keeps me laughing at her cute antics. One trick (which I will try to photograph at one point when she is up to doing it in front of the camera) is to latch one foot onto a cage bar and then turn a forward roll on her perch.

Edit - I remembered another difference. When getting sleepy, budgies grind their beaks. Cthulhu makes a little neat sound whereas Davros sounds like she is employing an industrial beak grinding machine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.