Anapirana

By Anapirana

Taste of the homeland

Today at work one of my colleagues who is from Glasgow went to the shops and got us irn bru. We often sit and talk about Scottish culture and the foods we miss. It always makes me want to go home for tattie scones, battered mars bars, haggis, chippie suppers and tablet.

Although I was born in Edinburgh. I went back and forth between there and Dumfries whilst I was growing up. There was an amazing little greasy spoon takeaway place on the White Sands in Dumfries that did things like bacon rolls and toast but the best thing they did was giant dish sized tattie scones. I don't know if it's still there but I can remember getting a takeaway box of them and eating them with a little bit of salt.

Another much missed food is scotch pie with chippie sauce. Ugh... Would pay good money for that this evening with some nice chips on the side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.