Robin

Headed back to Kent after my all-too-brief stay in Oxford (could have done with a couple more days, and am now thinking I should have done that). On the way back I popped in to Thame for a quick look round. I'd stayed there with a friend for a few weeks in the 90's but had never had a proper look round and had always regretted it. It's a lovely little town - quite genteel!

I was a big fan of the Bee Gees - still am I guess - so was very sad to hear of Robin's death a couple of months ago. I was lucky enough to meet them all back in the 80s when I had my first job in the music industry. I don't recall really speaking to Robin (other than saying hello), but had lovely chats to Barry and Maurice (especially Barry!!).

After a look round the high street, I realised the church was close by. I'm not religious in any way, shape or form, but I do love a church and headed to have a look round - and came across Robin's grave while wandering round the churchyard. It's become a mini-shrine, with quite a few cards and flowers - all soaked through with the recent rain. So sad to think that he and Maurice went so young (and Andy even younger).

And for all the Bee Gees haters (as I know they're not 'cool') - they sold about 220 million records globally, so stuff it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.