Back in Time

A cold strong wind today made it a day for staying indoors and resting my poor sore hip (which has improved a bit - thanks for your good wishes!)

I took advantage of a very good offer from The Book People of a set of 20 CDs of Ken Follett's sagas "The Pillars of the Earth" and "World Without End", which I'd been meaning to read for ages.  The snag came when I realised that the only CD players I still had were those in the cars and the one in our large (ancient) music centre in the dining room:-)  Neither were any good for listening in bed or on the settee!

I went online to do some research about audio-book players and realised I needed an old-style Discman which has the facility to resume play exactly where you left off.  Armed with the model number, I set about finding one and managed to buy this blue one on eBay for a reasonable figure.  It even comes with a remote control!

So I am now immersed in the 12th century, using 20th century equipment and revelling in the dulcet tones of Richard E. Grant as he talks just to me through my earphones:-)  Bliss!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.