Working Man

I wanted some stands to put a couple of pocket watches on which my Dad gave me , which had belonged to his father. I  could only find mass produced ones on t'internet, so searched for wood turners and found one locally who is going to make me some.
He has a workshop in Redditch so I went along there today. He's a bit wary of being photographed at work because of the usual reasons, health and safety and insurance etc, but I did get a quick shot of him working at his old lathe from the fifties, with just a few modern modifications. He learned his skills from his grandfather, and has worked with wood since he was very young. He's a real craftsman and is very busy as there is a big demand for hand turned staircase posts and furniture of all sorts. Very interesting. Thanks Steve!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.