Family History

This is a page from the Family History book my sister made a number of years ago. Each of us got one and I love it. I chose this page as it has a photo of my maternal Grandmother receiving the MBE for the work she did in dietetics in Mauritius. My Grandparents were in the Colonial Service in the Public Health Department....Grandad as a Dr and Granny as a dietician. They worked in the Middle East, the Caribbean and then Mauritius and Dad travelled with them but went to school in Edinburgh. The watch was my Grandfather's and is inscribed with A.R. Trinidad 1942 on the back. Dad would have been 95 on Sunday had he still been alive.

Edit: Just been talking to my mum and apparently the MBE was for work my gran did during a polio epidemic not dietetics as I thought - just looked it up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.