Faculty clubbed

On my last day in Tilburg, I've been struggling to find something to blip. So I resorted to the use of google to see whether or not there were any buildings of architectural merit on the campus - which is pretty much unremitting post war brutalism... I happened upon the Faculty Club, completed in 2011, a building which it is claimed that "The result is an integral, durable and engaging building. A monolith carved in such a way as to both profit and profit from the surrounding landscape while maintaining its distinct primary form." Well, you decide for yourselves.

Meanwhile, there was some debate at lunch in the cafeteria as to whether the club is only for so-called 'full' professors. The conclusion was that there was nothing apart from the prices preventing more junior faculty going in. Apparently lunch for two people in there could easily come to 50 euros....

My link today stems from one of my favourite bloggers - Stumbling and Mumbling - and is a dissection of the concept of diversity. This is relevant in the light of the paralympics and also in the light of the conference I have been at this week, in which fundamental rights have been at the core of the discussion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.