February sunset

After recently reading an essay from the online magazine, Aeon, I have become very conscious of how often I use the word "interesting". I don't believe that I use it as code for entertaining, as the author of the essay suggested is common. Nevertheless, I recognise that my use of this single word in different circumstances, means that I don't try to be precise about what I'm trying to say.

For instance, I read a paper today which was reporting on a study of the treatment of persons with bipolar disorder, with particular reference to attempts to reduce disability and decreased quality of life. In making notes afterwards, I had to examine what I meant be "interesting", and therefore find another word.

Feeling critical of the study and the report, I found myself writing that I "found it interesting that ...." When really what I was thinking was that they had a poorly designed study, implemented without due reference to their own protocol and then interpreted their findings as supporting the status quo in terms of current treatment recommendations, when their findings cast doubt on such an interpretation. Avoiding the word interesting may require me to express myself more bluntly and challengingly.

The sunset from the deck was rather wonderful this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.