Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Columns

I was reminded on Tuesday's walk with the Ramblers that I was due to lead another Tuesday walk in March, so I took the opportunity of a sunny(-ish) afternoon to head over to Callendar Park in Falkirk to do a bit of a recce.

The Callendar Estate has a whole network of paths, so it was just a matter of trying to find a route that would be both interesting and fit in with the time we had available. I had an interesting ramble around the estate (somewhere I have been many times before) but the recce was more useful in finding paths and routes I won't use in March due to mud and the uneven surfaces - let's stick to the main paths was my conclusion.

Among the places I ruled out was a diversion to the Mausoleum (pictured). This Grade A Listed Building was built in 1815 for the Forbes family, the then owners of the Estate, but has fallen into a sorry condition in recent years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.