I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

Where's My Food?

My birds are quite upset with me today. 

First I slept in a bit and when I came in the kitchen, I saw six mourning doves sitting on the back of the patio chairs and my finches and sparrows in the Cecile Brunner bush looking at the empty feeder. The female blackbirds were lurking around wondering what was going on.

Next, I decided to just put out a little seed and leave the feeder empty for a bit, hoping against hope that the blackbirds would give up their greed and find someplace else to raid. 

When I finally put out the feeder, the little ones were so happy, all their chattering alerted the blackbirds and once again, the bigger ones pushed out the little guys. 

I think it is getting time to wean them off the feeder and encourage them to find a natural source of food. I will miss the little ones.

I am grateful for the joy the birds bring to my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.