today's another day

By dbrereton

Mossley Road

This was a painting of the road my dad grew up on in Ashton under Lyne which was a wedding present to him and mum in 1967. It's by a lady called Patricia Kelsall and she may have been an art teacher that they new at the time. I'm not sure.

I do know however it hung in my grandma's house when I was a kid, in the front room that no one used. Later it came to our house and I can never remember mum and dad having it up on the wall, in fact it was in the loft. Perhaps they didn't like it.

I've always liked it so have brought it out in the various houses I've lived in, it's now up in the office at work.

I often drive down the street with work, not much has changed, The Miners Arms is still there, but not many who pass will know that that is where they laid the dead bodies of those killed in an accident in the mine.

It's 49 years old has outlived them all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.